vefsteam.blogg.se

Gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl
Gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl




gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl

Therefore strollers are not a big problem. That was so funny! There is only a small area that is not a cement walk. Well my husband went to feed it and the Emu grabbed the cup right out of his hand and ran away with it. There is a big section where you can feed and pet the animals and its nice to do that because not every day do you get to do this. The animals seemed to enjoy where they live. The animals were clean and healthy and their cages were very clean. I almost did not go to this zoo because of what jonathan wrote. Also, there are now laminated signs on some of the cages - you can tell theyre making an effort to bring the zoo up to par.

gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl

I was in the first train car and could hear him well, which I recall being a problem in the past.Īs far as the Feb 21 review below that stated the old snake exhibit is gone, it has just be relocated into the two-story white building near the exit (I think that building was previously used for education or something). He was conscious of the noise made by the engine and slowed or stopped to address the passengers to make sure we could hear him. The conductor was very friendly and very informative about the animals. We paid the $3 for the train ride, and I enjoyed it. The llamas were very friendly and so soft! The giraffe feeding platform that used to be there has been removed and there dont seem to be any time restrictions on when you can feed the giraffes anymore. They have expanded the petting and feeding zoo to span the entire length of the zoo along the highway, with the exception of a small pond near the entrance. All of the animals appeared to be in good health, as well. In contrast to visits in the past, we actually saw employees out tending to the exhibits and the animals. The large primate exhibit (where Colosus was back in the day) was not open and there were a few men working on painting the jungle gym and the viewing area, so Im sure they have plans for that area soon. A few animals that I had previously come to expect not to see "up and about" were actually moving around so that they could be seen: the black bear and the hippo. Some animals have been relocated to different exhibits and all seemed happy with their enclosures. The exhibits have been repaired, restored, and improved. I have to say I saw nothing but improvement. My husband and I went to the zoo today for the first time since they reopened a few months ago. Hopefully the state will stay on their ass and make sure they are doing things properly from now on. Otherwise the zoo would be shut down and the animals taken elsewhere. Although as far as I understand, the owners made alot of changes and resolved the issues. But unfortunately I had already told my kids we would go and didnt want to let them down. If I had known this before telling my kids we would go, I NEVER would have went and supported a zoo that cant even provide water to their animals. Apparently the conditions are better now than they were before the zoo owners were arrested and charged with animal abuse due to a number of different issues including expired vaccines, rusty nails poking thru cages, not properly feeding the animals, not making sure they always have clean water, etc. Another thing I didnt like was how small the animals enclosures were. It should be included in the admission price since you cant see all the exhibits without riding the train. I didnt like the fact that you have to purchase separate tickets for the train ride.

gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl

Its a very small zoo so it doesnt take very long to see everything. Ive never fed a giraffe so that was fun for me. The food you buy can be fed to the giraffes, llamas, goats, pigs, etc.

gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl

Again, they have food you can purchase at admission to feed the animals. Our second favorite thing we did was feeding the giraffes. It freaked us out a little at first bc it happens immediately but you get used to it. I was imagining having to kinda coax them into eating the bird seed but thats not the case! As soon as you walk in they swarm you and land on you to eat the seed. I was surprised at how friendly they were (and hungry). And let me tell you, they are making a fortune off them! My husband said if we ever go back, we should make our own and sneak them in:) I definitely recommend buying atleast a couple though bc its really fun. They are just popsicle sticks with bird seeds stuck to them. You can purchase "Budgie sticks" at admission for $1.50 each or 4 for $5. Just like many of the reviews say, the Budgie exhibit was the best. This is definitely not the best zoo Ive ever visited but my kids and I still had a good time.






Gulf breeze zoo gulf breeze parkway gulf breeze fl